Sign in

How we work

Help us keep healthy ecosystems!

The Red List of Ecosystems (RLE) is jointly coordinated by two IUCN bodies, the Commission on Ecosystem Management (CEM) and the Global Ecosystem Management Programme (GEMP). It is governed by two interacting committees with specific functions: (i) the Steering Committee, and (ii) a Committee for Scientific Standards. It is supported by the Red List of Ecosystems Thematic Group of the CEM, which is a group of volunteer experts that undertake diverse duties in support of the objectives of the RLE. The RLE Programme Unit—based in Cambridge, United Kingdom; Gland, Switzerland; and Nairobi, Kenya— administers the RLE and ensures global coordination of the experts involved in research, implementation and peer reviewing activities.

The RLE Steering Committee oversees the implementation of the IUCN Red List of Ecosystems Categories and Criteria at global and sub-global levels. It´s constituted by:

  • Jon Paul Rodríguez, Chair, Steering Committee
  • David A. Keith, Chair, Committee for Scientific Standards
  • Edmund G. Barrow
  • Thomas M. Brooks
  • Rebecca M. Miller
  • Emily Nicholson
  • María A. (Tina) Oliveira-Miranda
  • Piet Wiet

The RLE Committee for Scientific Standards (CSS) is the principal scientific body that provides expertise in the development, application and review of all issues related to the RLE. The Committee consists of scientific experts with balanced expertise spanning a range of skills, including risk assessment, ecological modelling, remote sensing, ecosystem classification and mapping, decision theory, and ecology of terrestrial, freshwater, marine and subterranean ecosystems. The combined expertise of the members of the Committee for Scientific Standards covers the full diversity of ecosystem types and geographical regions.


More detailed information is available in Guidelines for the Application of IUCN Red List of Ecosystems Categories and Criteria. 


The RLE also has a committee for peer review of completed assessments in the form of an Editorial board composed by: 

  • David A. Keith
  • Jon Paul Rodríguez
  • Emily Nicholson
  • María A. (Tina) Oliveira-Miranda
  • Members of the RLE Committee for Scientific Standards
Red List of Ecosystems
Recent Tweets

Help us keep healthy ecosystems!

Subscribe to our newsletter!